It’s been a really long time since I’ve posted to the blog. I feel pretty sad about that, but oh well, here I am now.

Since my last update, there have been a lot of exciting/scary changes in my life, so I guess I’ll do my best to summarize those.

In May, Jon proposed! We are planning on getting married later this year, something really simple without a lot of fuss or a lot of people. I am so excited for this step in our life, because I am always so incredibly impressed with how God chooses to use Jon in other people’s lives – even mine. He’s such a great guy, but at the same time, we have been together for almost 5 years, and that means that I am fully aware of his flaws and his struggles (which in my opinion is a great thing). Maybe I’ll do a blog post later on about our relationship and how we got to where we are now.

In June, my puppy Talia got hit by a car and died. I was/am pretty devastated, because she was going to turn 1 in September, and she was my best friend from the moment we met. Not to mention that she and Bruce had NEVER been separated since they were born; so Bruce took it really hard as well. It took almost a month for him to even start eating properly again. But his personality was definitely lackluster since then.

At the beginning of July, one of the girls that I work with had red-nose pitbull puppies and brought one to work for me because she was sad about our puppy. It was really sweet, and made me feel really loved by her for her to do that. Now, Bruce and the new puppy are best friends – (her name is Harley) and they play all day long. He’s gotten really protective of her, and it’s pretty great to see his personality start to come back after watching him hurt for a while. So now we are starting over with the whole training/potty training process, which may be the only down side for Harley. Otherwise, she has been great and a really easy puppy.

Also in the beginning of July, we had to buy Jon a new car because his old truck died. We ended up getting a 2012 prius, and it is really, really nice. But the car payment is going to be tough to keep up with, considering I just lost one of my jobs. But I’m choosing to believe that God will provide, because he knows our needs. July has been a pretty big month for Jon and I – relationship and life wise. We have begun to budget together and plan for our future that is going to be starting here very soon. It’s exciting, but there are so many challenges in our way right now that it is hard to just enjoy it. Once again, I’m having to choose to have complete faith that we are on the right path and that God is going to make everything work out the way that it is supposed to.

To be honest, I haven’t picked up my Bible in a good while. Tonight was the first time that I really started thinking about it, and I realized that I have been caught up so much with school and working and I haven’t been making time to take care of myself, whether it is spiritually, emotionally, or even physically. I have been so focused on everything else, and I was wondering why everything felt so chaotic inside my heart and my head. I’m making a promise to myself that I will open my Bible at least once a day, and make the time to spend with the Savior who just wants to be my best friend. I’m also going to begin to find the time to exercise sometime during the day, even if it is just a ten minute run. I have got to get myself back into a better place.

So that’s really all that is going on with me, and catches you up on my life :). I hope to get back on track and start posting things every other day, if not every day. But definitely at least once a week.

What have been your struggles this summer?

