I’ve always told myself that I would start a blog, preferably about my spiritual life, my fitness life, and just my life in general! But before now, I was too scared to get out there and try it. I’m not a professional writer, I’m not even a professional, and I didn’t think that I even had a voice that matters.

But then I realized that I was selfishly not following what God had been putting on my heart for a long time, due to fear and my own selfishness. I’m taking a leap of faith, and putting some ideas, thoughts, and just overall life experiences on the internet for all to see, comment on, and even keep up with (if they choose to, not that I would understand why they would).

I realized these past few months that I was doing what Jonah did. Jonah was told by God to go and serve his kingdom by warning the Ninevites about their impending doom. Instead, Jonah ran away. This was not a case of miscommunication, or misunderstandings. This was a case of blatant disregard for what God was saying, and running at its finest. God put Jonah in the belly of a whale to make clear just how much He cared that Jonah followed what God had told him to do. Jonah then bucked up, asked for forgiveness, and used God’s free love (see what I did there?) to go and warn those who lived in Nineveh. God then used his great love and abounding grace to change the ways of the Ninevites, and to spare their city, due to Jonah reaching them.

All Jonah had to do was put the message out there. God did the rest.

So here I am. After seeing the spiritual dryness that I’ve had, the lack of focus I’ve experienced in my study of scripture, and my lack of commitment to my prayer life, I decided to try what God had been leading me to do all along. I’ve walked my way to Nineveh, and I’m not putting the message(s) God puts on my heart out there. What he chooses to do with it is all part of His plan. I’m trusting that.

-Peyton

